Massage and children 

As I sit here writing my nearly three year old nephew has just calmed down. His mummy has gone to work for an hour and he is finding the separation after having her constant attention for six weeks very distressing. I have managed to calm him down singing nursery rhymes and using some soothing massage techniques Learnt from Indian head massage (effleurage) on his back. Now he is contented playing with the Lego. 

My own children are now back at school and so I can find time to reflect on what has made this years six week school holiday less stressful than in previous years and I have come to the realisation it’s been massage. Children need massage as much as we do. Unlike previous generations our children these days are expected to achieve more and work harder. This generation grow up a lot quicker. They are the technology age. Time spent in front of a computer instead of out riding bikes and climbing trees means their postures suffer. Like us children can hold a lot of tension in their upper shoulders and necks. They can also suffer from tension headaches and migraines. My twelve year old is very much into her mobile phone and sitting hunched over looking at the small screen means she has been complaining of a sore neck and headaches. So technology time was shortened and outdoor pursuits were lengthened and with a weekly Indian head massage she relaxed and her headaches lessened considerably.

For my daughter with ADHD the summer holidays has brought ups and downs. Due to the interruption of her normal routines she has when at school she found the holidays hard. I found that the OCD and ASD became more apparent the longer the holidays went on. Indian head massage helped somewhat by calming her and allowing her mind to settle. This was especially true when camping which is for another day. I am really looking forward to the story massage course later this month so that I can also use this. Every child likes stories that involve actions and interactive elements. It’s what keeps them interested and involved.this is especially true for my daughter. She is very good at hands on activities like art and finger crochet and she spends a lot of time in role play with her teddy bears. So the story massage will offer her another faucet in which to express herself. 

Being a mother I can see the benefits of massage for children. As a practionner I can see that what I do can help and clients reaping the benefits is always satisfying.

Getting the word out and getting parents involved and seeing the benefits is something I am working towards. To find out more about me and what I am working towards pleas visit http://www.leannesindianheadmassage.weebly.com 

You can also find out more about story massage at http://www.storymassage.co.uk

Until next time 

Leanne

Leave a Reply

