Story, massage And us

I have spoken often in my blogs about Story massage and Indian head massage. Why? Because as a parent I firmly believe that these two therapies bring a host of advantages to our family life. Living with a child with Hearing loss, ADD and Anxiety can bring a lot of stress and frustration into our family and especially into my daughters daily life.

  • Behavioural problems
  • sleeplessness
  • impulsiveness
  • language and communication
  • unable to cope with emotions
  • unable to cope with routines
  • forgetfulness


I have found that massage can have a positive effect on all of these. Its not just my view point either there are so many articles on the use of massage with disabilities and special needs its a wonder that massage is not more widely available and obtainable by parents. Massage for us has been a life line, a way for all of our children to relax, de-stress and benefit from the healing power of massage as well. Its not just the disabled child that could benefit but sibling’s, parent’s, wider family member’s.

Have you ever been for a massage? For many of us through time and money restraints massage may not be possible, it was only ever a luxury I had had a few times since having children. You don’t need to go out and spend money though even just sitting with your children giving them a cuddle, playing with their hair can be just as relaxing. We bond through touch, we communicate and we reassurance with touch and we can soothe and relax through touch. I initially trained in Indian head massage as a way to help my own children. From there it has grown into a passion due to the benefits I have seen within my own family and its these benefits I hope to pass onto other children and parent’s.

Massage can….

  • Relax the body which reduces tension and stress
  • reduces anxiety
  • Soothes and comforts
  • Increases energy
  • aides concentration, respect, self awareness, relaxes the mind
  • reduce tiredness, soothe aching muscles

Last year while doing more research into massage I found a wonderful and interesting massage therapy called http://www.Story massage.co.uk 

This massage skill is an amazing activity to add to your family life. Story massage is simply 10 massage moves which you use against the backdrop of any nursery rhyme, story, poem, song. The list is endless and I have hours of fun making up my own stories for my children to enjoy. The best thing about story massage is that it is a skill the whole family can learn and enjoy together and it can last 5 minutes or 20 minutes.


As a mother I have found massage to

  •  aide Anxiety which is common in ADD/ADHD suffers
  •  aide relaxation for better sleep
  • reduce tension built up through Ticks and stress
  •  aide concentration and general self esteem
  •  aide those with Hyperactivity by helping the body and mind to calm and relax

The beauty of story massage is that you can tailor the story or song to your own child’s particular needs. We have stories about holidays, how important it is to eat, stories with my children’s names in them and stories about their individual disabilities. The best thing is there is no right and wrong and you can do it anywhere and anytime

  • bedtime
  • car journeys
  • on holiday
  • in a queue
  • at the doctors
  • mealtimes
  • when the routine changes
  • when there is quarrelling and boredom
  • rainy days

The list really is endless. Children as young as two can enjoy the stories and I have had a group of teenagers making up stories and then giving each other a massage 🙂 and one of my eldest wrote me a story massage for mothers day
My Super Mum by Charlotte, aged 11

My mum is like Super Mum, (The Circle)
always there when I need her. (The Circle)
She appears like a ninja all ready to help, (The Upwards Fan)
and swoops into save me when I’m feeling lost. (The Downwards Fan)

My mum is a Super Mum, a Super Mum she is (The Circle)
She sorts out my problems and listens to me (The Calm)
She shows me she cares, she makes me so happy (The Squeeze)
I feel all warm and fuzzy inside. (The Squeeze)

But sometimes I am naughty (The Drum)
Super Mum can shout – very loud (The Drum)
She tells me to be good, to be kind. (The Calm)
I want to grow up to be just like my Super Mum (The Circle)

My Super Mum brings magic and excitement (the Bounce)
I know how much she cares, she shows me everyday (The Circle)
So I wrote this for you, Mum (The Circle)
To show you how much I care. (The Calm)


As a therapist I do offer sessions in Story massage where you can learn the moves and share story massage with your children. Recently I won the Best Practise Award from Story massage and I feel immensely fortunate in being able to share these skills with other parents.

What ever you do tonight give your child a hug and share with them the power of positive touch

x leanne x

http://www.marshamholistictherapy.co.uk

Leave a Reply

